Supermoist Carrot Cake with Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting

3 Aug

Everything I eat has been proved by some doctor
or other to be a deadly poison, and everything
I don’t eat has been proved to be
indispensable for life. But I go marching on.

~George Bernard Shaw

Recipe Source: Cake adapted from my friend Lori’s college friend, Kristen
Frosting adapted from allrecipes.com

carrot cakeomg!

I’m a big fan of sweets – really. Sweets of all kinds, especially bready ones like cakes. But I’ve never really been a fan of carrot cake. I often find it a little dense and oily, and the frosting is entirely too sweet. But this recipe I got from one of my best friends, whose taste I trust, and who famously made this cake without carrots once, by accident. She assured me that even then, the cake turned out delicious! So with a review like that, I had to try it.

carrot cake batterDon’t forget the carrots!

I’ve made this cake four times now, always for a crowd, and I think I’ve perfected it. The taste has always been wonderful, but originally, it called for 1 1/2 cups of oil. I lined my pan with wax paper to make the cake easier to remove, and the oil seeped around and under the paper, it was so oily. So I worked to cut down the oil each time, first using half oil and half plain applesauce (3/4 cups each), then cutting the oil down to 1/2 cup, with 3/4 cups applesauce. And eureka – it’s wonderful!

sifting powdered sugarSift the powdered sugar into the frosting for the smoothest consistency

This cake comes out tall and spongy. It’s still super moist from all the carrots, and their flavor shines without the thick masking taste of the oil. The applesauce lends a bit of sweetness as well. Then I add in a little allspice to play with the cinnamon, since I top the cake with an allspice cream cheese frosting. I always cut the powdered sugar in half from the original frosting recipe, which makes it a tiny bit runnier than, say, a buttercream, but it’s loads better for you. Of course this cake is still far from diet food, but it weighs a little less heavy on my conscience with these adjustments! (bad puns, I shamefully admit, are fully intended)

frosting the cake*PLOP*

RECIPE - Supermoist Carrot Cake with Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting

Cake
2 cups sugar
1/2 cup canola oil
3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
4 eggs
2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 teaspoon allspice
3 cups (1 lb) grated carrots

Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting
1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, softened
1/3 cup butter, softened
3/4 teaspoon ground allspice
2-3 cups confectioners’ sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons milk

Make the cake
Mix sugar, oil and applesauce, and beat, adding 1 egg at a time. Mix till fluffy.

Combine flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and allspice in a separate bowl.

Mix dry ingredients with wet ingredients.

Add carrots and mix well.

Bake in ungreased 9×13 pan (or two 10” rounds) at 350 degrees F for 20-30 minutes. Let cool.

Make the frosting
In a medium bowl, blend the cream cheese, butter, and allspice.

Gradually mix in the confectioners’ sugar, vanilla, and milk until the mixture is spreadable.

Optional: sprinkle frosted cake with chopped walnuts.

5 Responses to “Supermoist Carrot Cake with Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting”

  1. Jasmine August 3, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    PLEASE, PLEASE, THIS IS SUCH A TORTURE !! WHY, OH, WHY, CANT I BE GOOD AT THIS KIND OF DELICACY COOKING??

    BUT, AT LEAST, I LOVE WATCHING THE PICTURES OF YOUR HORS CONCOUR CONCOCTIONS!!

    THANK YOU!!

  2. The Good Greatsby August 12, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    I’ve requested my wife make me this cake for my birthday; it looks incredible.

  3. ed August 20, 2011 at 10:53 am #

    I often buy a carrot cake at Public’s but your’s look so much better. Now if I can only get my wife to bake one I’ll be in heaven.

  4. Jen August 20, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    C’mon husbands, you can do it! It’s easy. And just think of how surprised your wives would be :)

  5. Dave January 18, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

    “Don’t forget the carrots”. LOL. Now who would do such a thing?? This is probably the best carrot cake I have ever had. And the substitutions make me feel a lot less guilty – less sugar and oil. Love it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

