Oranges with Lavender and Mint

24 Aug

Recipe Source: The Kitchn

oranges
I almost feel like I’m cheating to post this recipe, but I would never have thought of it, so maybe you haven’t, either! This really is the perfect dessert – quick, simple, fresh, and healthy. It makes a beautiful presentation and feels gourmet with hardly any work. It’s the kind of recipe that makes me want to get poetic about simplicity, the purity of ingredients, food in its natural form, maybe something about the earth’s bounty and, um, being earthy… but I’ll spare you.

The only catch to it is the orange flower water, which I couldn’t find. It’s a traditional Moroccan ingredient and has a lot of fascinating applications, but around here, somewhat exotic. While on the hunt I discovered Stirrings Blood Orange Bitters instead (thanks BevMo!), which has its own delightful possibilities… I’ve already had fun splashing it into gin-tonics!

The tartness of the oranges, sweetness of the orange water and honey, and freshness of the mint complement each other perfectly, with the lavender adding a layer of floral complexity. Light and refreshing, this dessert won’t weigh you down after a full meal.

Oranges with Lavender and Mint
Serves 2

2 teaspoons orange flower water
2 teaspoons honey
1/8 teaspoon dried lavender buds
3 medium Mandarin oranges
1-2 mint sprigs

Combine orange flower water, honey, and lavender in a small saucepan. Bring to a simmer over low heat, stirring to dissolve the honey. Remove from heat.

Peel and cut the oranges into 1/4-inch thick slices and remove any seeds. Arrange on a plate and drizzle the syrup on top.

Garnish with mint and serve.

6 Responses to “Oranges with Lavender and Mint”

  1. Lillian August 24, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

    We just got some oranges in our CSA box last week, I think I will try this with those. Maybe I can find a recipe for the orange water?? If you can’t find it in SD I will NEVER find it here! Thanks for the idea.

  2. Spike August 28, 2011 at 6:09 am #

    I was just craving oranges this morning and this looks like such a perfect presentation

  3. hungryDUO August 29, 2011 at 9:11 am #

    Yum! Sounds delicious!

  4. myyearoffood August 31, 2011 at 7:27 am #

    that looks amazing! i will definitely try this. :)

  5. Tremendous things here. I’m very satisfied to peer your article. Thanks so much and I’m looking ahead to touch you. Will you kindly drop me a e-mail?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

