Impromptu Salad

20 Mar

Way down among Brazilians coffee beans grow by the billions,
and they’ve got to find those extra cups to fill
They’ve got an awful lot of coffee in Brazil.
-Frank Sinatra

I found this salad dressing on Culinary Media Network when I was browsing around the other day, and it sounded weird to me. So this of course meant I needed to try it. I tossed with spring mix, sliced strawberries and pine nuts.

Verdict: I like coffee flavor, so I liked this. Definitely good with the strawberries. Perhaps better with a milder lettuce, like romaine. And I would have preferred slivered almonds to pine nuts, but I didn’t have any. Eh, try this if you dare.

Coffee Vinaigrette

1 teaspoon coffee, very finely ground
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
1/4 cup sherry wine vinegar (vinagre de jerez)
1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil

Combine dry ingredients and vinegar in a non-reactive mixing bowl. Slowly whisk in olive oil until well incorporated. Store in refrigerator until ready to serve (keeps for up to one week).

Leave a Reply

