Rosemary Chicken & Potatoes

4 Apr

As I mentioned in my Rosemary Popcorn post, thanks to Giada De Laurentiis’ sinful snack, I now have a rosemary plant. But sadly, I almost never cook with rosemary. A while back, I found a recipe for rosemary chicken and tried it, but it somewhat bombed. My boyfriend and I did a lot of reading and hypothesizing, and I made a lot of notes in the margins of the recipe. Then I put it in a binder and forgot all about it.

Well, posting about the popcorn made me think, “how sad that I never use my plant,” then, “I should find a rosemary recipe,” then remember that I’ve been through this same thought process before. So last night we broke out the recipe again for Round 2. I think it turned out better. Hopefully the third time will be a charm.

SO. This recipe calls for chicken thighs. I bought bone-in, with skin. Last time we made this, I bought boneless skinless thighs, no doubt motivated by laziness, but there wasn’t much to crisp and it was just sort of a soggy mess. I have learned my lesson.

Here’s David de-boning the chicken. Thanks, David!

The chicken will be mixed with cubed red potatoes and a dressing of olive oil, rosemary, oregano, garlic, salt and pepper. This is my favorite part. This is what makes this recipe so ridiculously easy, yet so delicious, and so worth perfecting. I just toss all of this in a large Ziploc bag.

Next, arrange the chicken and potatoes on a pan for baking. We used a standard cake pan, but in hindsight, I think I’d use a roasting rack, like in the Almost Tandoori Chicken recipe. The chicken and potatoes will probably crisp better if they’re not soaking in their own juices. Oh well, next time.

Bake at 375 degrees F for 20 minutes, then move the pan to the top-most oven rack and broil for an additional 10 minutes, to crisp. The chicken should reach around 160 to 165 degrees. (As you can see, mine got to 170.)

The potatoes might need to crisp even longer, but we were pressed for time since we had a concert to attend. All in all, the flavors were delish. I will keep working on this one. If you try it, let me know how it goes! 🙂

L'amour!

4 chicken thighs, with skin
3 small red potatoes, cubed
1/4 cup olive oil
1 1/2 teaspoons rosemary
3/4 teaspoon oregano
2 cloves garlic, minced
salt and pepper, to taste

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. In a small bowl, combine olive oil, rosemary, oregano, garlic, salt and pepper; set aside.

In a large bowl or plastic bag, toss chicken and potatoes with rosemary oil mixture to coat thoroughly. Bake chicken and potatoes for 20 minutes, uncovered, on middle oven rack. Then move pan to top oven rack and broil for an additional 10 minutes, to crisp. Internal chicken temperature should reach between 160 and 170 degrees.

Leave a Reply

