San Diego Veg Week, Oct 2-9

2 Oct

Hey all! Just a quick post to let you know about San Diego Veg Week, a movement sponsored by the Animal Protection & Rescue League and others, to promote the prevention of animal cruelty, improve health, and protect the environment by exploring a vegetarian diet. San Diego’s event coincides with International Vegetarian Week, which runs from October 1-7. Why San Diego decided to be different, I cannot tell you. We’re just special that way, I guess.

SD veg week

Anyway, I’ve decided to get on board for this, as a way to force myself to explore more vegetarian meals and food preparations. I’ve been learning about the effects of animal farming on the environment for a while now, as well as the cruel ways in which most animals are raised for food, and I think it’s important to be aware of these issues as a consumer. I am not anti-meat; in fact, I am very happy as an omnivore and doubt I will ever go completely vegetarian. But I do feel good after eating a vegetarian meal, and hope to incorporate more fruits and vegetables into my diet. I think events like Veg Week are great for raising our awareness, on so many levels.

So, if you’re interested, I encourage you to visit the website and sign up for their free e-newsletter. I will also be making short posts on what I come up with for food this week.

*Cheating slightly – because I just found out about this event and already had a meat-eating weekend planned (family birthday luncheon and monthly cooking group), I will be starting my own veg week on Monday.

To all vegetarians, vegans, or “veg-curious” who may be reading, I’d love to hear about your own experiences, advice, favorite recipes, etc. So comment away! 🙂

2 Responses to “San Diego Veg Week, Oct 2-9”

  1. Dave October 3, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    Tree hugger! Or should I say cow and chicken hugger?! j/k 😉 I am looking fwd to some exciting, “meat free” recipes for that week. I have a boring repertoire of veggie recipes and am always looking fwd to spicing things up. I also like the idea of converting the vegetable “side dish” into a main dish.

  2. JASMINE October 4, 2010 at 8:42 am #

    An absolutely excellent endeavour… Coincidentally, I have been on a somewhat semi-vegetarian diet since I have been diagnosed with a slight elevated blood glucose. I have been snacking on veggies such as celery, cauliflower, cucumber, wedges of green, red and yellow peppers, and carrots. I haven’t been able to develop a taste for broccoli to my dismay !! Carry on my sweet “putasporkin it” !!!

Leave a Reply

