Kuri Squash & Garlic Soup

2 Nov

Last weekend, I had a group of friends over to carve pumpkins. So naturally, we sat around cooking, eating, and talking instead. These are my favorite elements of any party, the only things I really care about. I made a “spooky” playlist for the iPod and a bunch of brand-new, perfect-for-Fall dishes. But I’m not blogging about any of those today. Because my fantastic, whimsical friend Lori showed up that day with a pumpkin to carve and a red kuri squash for me to try, because it looked cool.

kuri squashI’ve never seen one of these before, have you?

I opted to roast it and turn it into a soup with a few ingredients I already had lying around. Here’s how you, too, can make Friendship Squash Soup!

1) Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Halve squash and place in a glass baking dish, cut sides down. Roast for 1 hour, until squash is soft when pierced with a fork. Remove from oven, let cool, then peel and discard skin. Scrape out seeds and set aside to roast, if desired.* Resist the urge to taste gooey, marshallowey black stuff that has oozed from the squash, as it tastes horrible and is likely carcinogenic. No really – don’t eat it. Mash the squash into a Tupperware container and refrigerate for two days, until you can get around to finishing this very simple soup.

2) Roughly chop 1/2 red or white onion leftover in your fridge. Saute with 1 clove of elephant garlic or 2-3 cloves of regular garlic, and about 2 tsp roughly chopped ginger root until the onions are translucent and soft, about 15 minutes. Stir in mashed, cooked squash.

elephant garlic

3) Transfer mixture to a food processor and squeeze in the juice of 1 lime. With the processor running, slowly pour in 2 cups vegetable stock. Season to taste. Then, because the soup isn’t spicy enough and you are obsessed with garlic, roughly chop and add in some raw garlic (1/2 elephant clove or 1 regular). Key point!

4) Serve warm and garnish with toasted pine nuts or roasted squash seeds. Serves 4.

kuri squash & garlic soup

*And as an added bonus, check out this recipe roundup from The Kitchn: 12 Things To Do with Pumpkin Seeds

Such a lovely snack for work! I could get addicted to these…

roasted squash seeds

5 Responses to “Kuri Squash & Garlic Soup”

  1. Jasmine November 2, 2011 at 11:19 pm #

    Sounds overwhelming in all respects and only a supeer-duper chefette would undertake such a masterpiece!! BRAVO!!!

  2. A Tablespoon of Liz November 3, 2011 at 7:52 am #

    I’ve only recently seen this kind of squash, and a lot of other unusual types in stores. They all look so good though, it’s hard to choose!

    • Jen January 9, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

      I know what you mean, Liz! Luckily I have yet to go wrong with any type of squash 🙂

  3. Allison January 9, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

    Did you saute the garlic along with the onion? Every time I’ve done that, I’ve burned the garlic unless I’ve waited until the last 30 seconds of sauteing the onion. Should I be using a lower temperature, then?

    • Jen January 9, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

      I used to always add garlic first, following recipes. But I’m a garlic freak, and feel like I can’t taste it enough that way. So now I throw it in toward the end, either of the onions cooking or just end of the recipe. I’m of the opinion that it doesn’t need to be cooked much. And I’ve read that the nutritional benefits break down if it’s cooked too long. You can also try chopping your garlic a little bigger – esp with a knife and not a press.

Leave a Reply

